Speakers announced for the International Transport Forum 2011

Jeffrey Sachs is the Director of the Earth Institute at Columbia University in new York, where he is also Quetelet Professor of Sustainable Development and Professor of Health Policy and Management. From 2002 to 2006, he was Director of the United Nations Millennium Project and Special Advisor to UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan on the Millennium Development Goals, the internationally agreed goals to reduce extreme poverty, disease, and hunger by the year 2015. He is now special Advisor to current UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-Moon. He has also advised governments in Latin America, Eastern Europe, the former Soviet Union, Asia and Africa, as well as a host of international development agencies. Jeffrey Sachs is the author of "Common Wealth" and "The End of Poverty". A the International Transport Forum 2011, Professor Sachs will highlight the role of transport in alleviating poverty and fostering economic development.

Jaime Lerner was nominated among the 25 most influential thinkers in the world by Time Magazine in 2010. An architect and urban planner and three-time mayor of Curitiba, Brazil, he led the urban revolution that made his city a global beacon for urban planning in public transport, the environment and social programs. Mr. Lerner also served twice as governor of Brazil's Parana state and initiated an economic and social transformation in the state's urban and rural areas. He has received numerous awards, including the highest United Nations Environmental Award (1990), UNICEF's Child and Peace Award (1996), the World Technology Award for Transportation and the Sir Robert Mathew Prize for the Improvement of Quality of Human Settlements (2002). He is the founder of the Instituto Jaime Lerner and a former president of the International Union of Architects. At the International Transport Forum, Jaime Lerner will share his now world-renowned initiative in Curitiba and how elements of this - notably the Bus Rapid Transit system - have been replicated throughout Latin America and the rest of the world.

Peter Voser has been the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Royal Dutch Shell, one of the world's largest energy company, since July 1, 2009. A Swiss national, Mr. Voser joined Shell in 1982 after graduating in business administration from the University of Applied Sciences, Zürich. He has served on the Board of Directors of USB AG, the Swiss Bank, (from 2005-10) and of pharmaceuticals company Roche (since March 2011). Mr. Voser was also a member of the Swiss Federal Auditor Oversight Authority from 2006-10. As a director of the non-profit organisation Catalyst, he is working to build inclusive environments and expand opportunities for women and business. In Leipzig, Peter Voser will share his insights during the high-level debate on how major energy producers such as Shell are contributing to the development of liveable and sustainable societies.

Jeremy Rifkin is president of the Foundation on Economic Trends and the author of eighteen bestselling books on the impact of scientific and technological changes on the economy, the workforce, society, and the environment. Mr. Rifkin is also a senior lecturer at the Wharton School's Executive Education Program at the University of Pennsylvania. For the past decade Mr. Rifkin has been serving as an economic advisor to the European Union. In that capacity, he was the principal architect of the European Union's Third Industrial Revolution long-term economic sustainability plan to address the triple challenges of the global economic crisis, energy security and climate change. In Leipzig, Mr. Rifkin will focus on how transport plays a role in this revolution as well as in the "emphatic" society he has written about in his latest book on that theme.

Enrique Peñalosa is an influential thinker on urban challenges whose vision and proposals have significantly influenced policies in numerous cities throughout the world. As mayor of Bogota, Colombia, between 1998 and 2000 he implemented profound changes which transformed the city and its citizens' attitude towards it. Mr. Peñalosa is a sought-after consultant on Urban Vision and Sustainability Strategy. He is currently President of the Board of Directors of the Institute of Transportation and Development Policy, an international think tank that works with cities worldwide to bring about sustainable transport solutions that cut greenhouse gas emissions, reduce poverty, and improve the quality of urban life. Mr. Peñalosa holds degrees in Economics and History from Duke University, in Government from the IIAP in Paris and in Public Administration from the University of Paris II.

Dieter Zetsche has been Chairman of the Board of Management of Daimler AG, the German carmaker, since January 2006. He is also Head of Mercedes-Benz Cars Division, which includes passenger car brands Mercedes-Benz, Maybach, Smart and Mercedes-Benz AMG. Dr. Zetsche is a member of the supervisory board of RWE AG, one of Germany's leading energy companies. He is also currently the president of the European Automobile Manufacturers' Association (ACEA), for the years 2010 and 2011. In his appearance at the International Transport Forum 2011, Mr. Zetsche will highlight how the automobile industry, in particular Daimler AG, is improving passenger travel through cleaner, more efficient vehicles.

Thomas Enders was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Airbus in 2007, after having served on the Executive Committee of EADS since 2000. He studied Economics, Political Science and History at the University of California and the University of Bonn, where he received a doctorate. He has been active in the aerospace and defence industry since 1991. Prior to joining industry, Mr. Enders worked in the German Ministry of Defence and in various foreign policy think tanks. Since 2005, Mr. Enders is president of the German Aerospace Industry Association (BDLI). His contribution at the 2011 Summit will focus on how aviation is leading the way in developing efficient, sustainable freight transport solutions.
For a list of all confirmed speakers, please click here.