About the Multilateral Quota

Ever since it was set up in 1953, the European Conference of Ministers of Transport (ECMT) has always sought to facilitate international inland transport and integrate the markets concerned.

Its multilateral quota of transport licences, introduced on 1 January 1974, was seen by the Council of Ministers as practical step towards the gradual liberalisation of road freight transport which could only be achieved in conjunction with joined efforts of member States towards the harmonization of the terms of competition both between road hauliers from different countries and between modes of transport.

By introducing standards regarding noise and exhaust emissions for the "green" lorry and even stricter emission standards as well as safety requirements for the "greener and safe" lorry and successively, for the "EURO III safe", "EURO IV safe" and "EURO V safe" lorry, the multilateral quota also promotes the use of environment friendly and safe vehicles and thus contributes to ensuring sustainable mobility.

Quality Charter  Charte de Qualité   Russian version

Statement from Ministers of European Member Countries on a Quality Charter for International Road Haulage Operations under the ECMT Multilateral Quota System    DÉCLARATION DES MINISTRES DES PAYS MEMBRES EUROPÉENS CONCERNANT LA   Russian version

Member countries participating in the quota system

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, FYROM, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and United Kingdom.